By clicking on "Subscribe" you accept our privacy policy.



European Hector Research Award in HIV 2019


The H.W. & J. Hector Foundation, Weinheim, is creating and announcing a prize for European HIV research, which will be awarded for the best scientific achievements in the HIV research area in 2019.

More information


  • EUR 10,000 for the best clinical and/or epidemiological paper;
  • EUR 10,000 for the best basic science, translational paper.


Any paper on an HIV-related topic that has been accepted or published in a peer-reviewed journal within the last 24 months (i.e. from November 1, 2017) before the start of the 17th European AIDS Conference can be submitted.

If the paper has been co-authored by several authors, it should be made clear which author is applying for the award. The application should be accompanied by a written consent of all co-authors.


Thank you to all submitters for their contribution, applications are now closed.

EACS Award 2019


The EACS Award for Excellence in HIV Medicine will be awarded at the 17th European AIDS Conference in Basel on November 6, 2019. The purpose of this award is to recognise the achievements of a senior scientist who has greatly contributed to the field of HIV/AIDS and to the European AIDS Clinical Society in the last decades.

More information

Award Committee

  • Prof. Nathan Clumeck, Belgium (Chair)
  • Prof. Bernard Hirschel, Switzerland
  • Prof. Jens D. Lundgren, Denmark
  • Prof. Jean-Michel Molina, France
  • Prof. Marie-Louise Newel, United Kingdom


Nomination requirements

Nominations of candidates for the EACS Award must be made by a member of EACS.


Required supporting documentation:

  • A brief nominating letter endorsing the candidate addressed to the Chair of the Award Committee;
  • The title of a seminal paper authored by the nominee.


Nominations should be submitted to the EACS Secretariat no later than September 1, 2019. Nominations received after this date will not be considered.


Selection procedure

The nominations will be reviewed by the EACS Award Committee consisting of five members who have received the Award at previous European AIDS Conferences. The Committee will forward the name of the selected laureate for endorsement to the EACS President.


For more information about the European AIDS Clinical Society, please visit ourwebsite.


Registration is open

Second Announcement

Take a look

Call for abstracts

Submissions are closed